Strategic 360s

Making feedback matter

My Happy Song

with 4 comments

[tweetmeme source=”anotherangle360″]

I have recently received some feedback about the general tone of my blogs to the effect that they seem defensive and focus on the problems that are often used to diminish the value of 360 feedback. In other words, they have a negative tone.

Guilty as charged. I think it is just part of my nature. I am a (very) amateur songwriter, and I have received feedback on that front as well that my songs are almost all sad in some way (hey, what is a love song about?).  So I decided some time back to write a happy song, and I titled it, “My Happy Song”.  I never finished it; that should tell us something.

So let me try again and write a “happy song” about 360 feedback, with some deference to the season:

(To the tune of Jingle Bells)

Dashing through my job

At a place I love to work

Here’s another task

Are these guys berserk!

But hey what’s this I see

It’s feedback just for me

And from my closest coworkers

With anonymity

….

Chorus:

360

Leadership

Feedback all the way

Oh what fun it is to hear

What others have to say!

360

Leadership

Feedback is for you

Hope my other coworkers

Are also in the queue.

……

So here comes my report

By email just for me

Though my coach and boss

Will each get a copy

I see a few things new

Some things I’ve heard before

Some write ins that are useful too

To help improve my score

(Chorus)

….

And now the hard part comes

To take this useful gift

To guide my PDP

And give my job a lift

I’ll meet with my leader

And with my raters too

We’ll see if I can really change

The things that I need to

(Chorus)

HAPPY Holidays!

©2010 David W. Bracken

Written by David Bracken

December 16, 2010 at 3:36 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Too bad you can’t enter this in the Nebraska State Fair. You could have won a blue ribbon with this. To match mine. 🙂

    Liz

    December 17, 2010 at 1:24 am

  2. David

    That was the most fun I have had all week. I loved it. How creative and so responsive, so quickly. I am truly impressed. Can I use this?

    Happiest of Holidays to you and to all.

    Diane

    Diane McKay

    December 17, 2010 at 10:08 am

    • Thanks, Diane! Feel free to use it, and wondering how that might occur. 🙂

      David Bracken

      December 17, 2010 at 4:18 pm

  3. Dave – That was precious! PLEASE find a way to sing it at SIOP this year!

    Dale rose

    December 22, 2010 at 4:25 pm


Leave a Reply

